Awards, Grants and Bursaries

Each year, we proudly honour excellence in our specialty!
Our annual Awards, Grants and Bursaries celebrate individual excellence, expertise, outstanding achievements, professional development, and superior contributions to the association and our critical care specialty. If you know someone who has made a difference, we welcome your nominations.

Award Submission Deadline: June 1 @ 2359 hrs ET

Review all awards as some deadlines may differ

Review the overall award, bursary, grant criteria before submitting an application.
Exceptions to the overall criteria cannot be granted.

CACCN Overall Award Criteria

Nominees and applicants must:

  1. be a current/active member of the Canadian Association of Critical Care Nurses (CACCN) for a minimum of one (1) year prior to the application/nomination for all awards, bursaries, grants.
  2. Exceptions to the membership criteria are:
    1. Brenda Morgan Leadership Excellence Award – member, for a minimum of five (5) consecutive years
    2. Life Member Award – member, for a minimum of ten (10) consecutive years.
  3. be licensed to practice nursing in Canada.
    1. Exception to the licensing is the Life Member Award.
  4. complete the application/nomination via the online award, bursary and grant submission system.
  5. provide signed applications and/or nomination letters (physical or electronic signatures accepted), where required.
  6. provide contact information for applicants, nominees and those providing character references, chapter and/or national involvement, to verify authenticity, where required.

Thank you to our sponsors – we value your support!

Submission DeadlineDeadline June 1Criteria, Application Links

BBraun Sharing Expertise Award
Sponsored by
BBraun Medical of Canada Ltd
Presented to an individual who exhibits stellar leadership and mentoring abilities in critical care. 

Award:  Conference Tuition, Travel Bursary, Hotel Bursary to a maximum of $1750

Online Submission

Spacelabs Innovative Project Awards
Sponsored by
Spacelabs Healthcare
Presented to a critical care nurse or group of critical care nurses who develop a project that will enhance their professional development.

1st Place $1000
2nd Place $ 500
Two Awards: $750
(Revised Criteria 2023)

Online Submission
Brenda Morgan Leadership Excellence Award
Sponsored by CACCN
Presented to a critical care nurse who, on a consistent basis demonstrates outstanding performance in leadership in CACCN and critical care.

Award: Trophy and $1000


Online Submission
Canadian Intensive Care Week “Spotlight” Challenge Award
Sponsored by CACCN
Presented to a group of critical care nurses who develop an activity and/or event to profile their local Critical Care Team during Canadian Intensive Care Week held annually in October.

Bursary: $500

Online Submission
Certification Bursary
Sponsored by CACCN
Provided annually to assist critical care nurses who successfully certify or renew their certification in our specialty – CNCC(C) and CNCCP(C).

Initial: $1,000 annually
2 eligible members @ $500

Renewal: $1,000 annually​
4 eligible members @ $250

NO application is necessary. Ensure you provide permission to Canadian Nurses Association to share your contact information.

MIP Award 2023
Sponsored by MIP Inc.
This award is to be used to register for the specialty nursing – critical care – examination or specialty nursing – critical care – renewal

To qualify for the voucher code draw, one must be a current/active member of the CACCN for a minimum of one year at the time of application and must be a current/active member at the time of receiving the award.

The voucher code is valid until the application window closes in Fall 2023.  
Deadline for Submission:  September 1, 2023 

Online Submission
Chasing Excellence Award
Sponsored by CACCN
Presented to a critical care nurse who consistently demonstrates excellence in critical care nursing practice.

Award: $ 1000

Online Submission

Graduate Education Bursary
Sponsored by CACCN
Presented to assist critical care nurses to pursue Master’s or Doctoral education with a focus on critical care nursing​.

Bursary: $1000 

Sample Application

Merit Points application 
Word PDF

Online Submission
Life Member Award
Sponsored by CACCN
The conferral of Life Membership represents the highest form of recognition by one’s peers.

Life Member status is conferred on individuals who have demonstrated sustained support and exceptional contributions to the Association, as well as the advancement of the art and science of critical care nursing through practice, education, research leadership and advocacy for the specialty.

Online Nomination

This award is conferred by the Board of Directors.

CACCN Members may recommend members who meet the criteria for the award by submitting the nominee’s name and a brief statement on their eligibility for the award through the online format.
Research Grant
Sponsored by CACCN
Awarded to a critical care nurse who is the investigator of a research study that is relevant to the practice of critical care nursing.

Grant:  $2500 
Grant Criteria
(Revised Criteria 2023)

Research Grant Estimated Budget Form

Online Submission
** EST = Eastern Standard Time
Questions: contact National Office at or 866-477-9077 / 519-207-7007

Previous Award Recipients and Certification Listings

Daisy Foundation

DAISY is an acronym for Diseases Attacking the Immune System. The DAISY Foundation was formed in November, 1999, by the family of J. Patrick Barnes who died at age 33 of complications of Idiopathic Thrombocytopenic Purpura (ITP). During his hospitalization, Pat’s family was truly touched by his nurses’ care – not only the impressive clinical skill but especially the compassion and kindness they showed Pat and his family. So when he died, his family felt compelled to express their profound gratitude to nurses for the work they do for patients and their families every day. Today, The DAISY Award honors extraordinary nursing care in nearly 1,800 healthcare facilities in fourteen countries, including Canada.  Over 40,000 nurses have been honored, to date, and over 140,000 nurses nominated for The DAISY Award.  Why Meaningful Recognition is so important:  More Information