The Canadian Association of Critical Care Nurses (CACCN) is a volunteer organization of Critical Care Nurses.  CACCN is the voice for excellence in Canadian critical care nursing.  Our shared goal is to promote quality patient- and family-centered care for Canadian’s experiencing life threatening illness and injury.  

CACCN welcomes all registered nurses, nursing students, allied health professionals and other colleagues who are interested in advancing the science and craft of critical illness care.

CACCN structure is composed of a National Board of Directors representing the Eastern, Central and Western regions of the nation with chapters across the country.   We are proud of our approximately 1400 strong members who practice in a wide variety of health care settings in Canada, the United States and abroad. 

CACCN is a not for profit organization and is an active member of the Canadian Nurses Association (CNA) Network of Nursing Specialties and partners with a variety of associations and educational organizations in Canada and around the world.


In 1975, the National Society of Critical Care Nurses (NSCCN) based in Toronto, a Chapter of the American Association of Critical Care Nurses (AACN), was established.  On February 27, 1979, a group known as the Niagara Association of Critical Care Nurses (NACCN) was formed.  The NACCN changed its name in 1981 to the Canadian Association of Critical Care Nurses (CACCN). In 1983, the NSCCN and CACCN existed as separate associations.  During 1983, the two groups merged into one as the Canadian Association of Critical Care Nurses (CACCN), adopting the logo of the NSCCN.  During the first year the new association operated with a Co-President structure consisting of the Presidents of the NSCCN and the original CACCN.   While membership began with a heavy base in Ontario, national representation took off with the merger of a strong Manitoba critical care group.  As a result of this merger, CACCN introduced additional chapters across the country.  


CACCN consists of seven (7) directors elected by the membership.

  • Two (2) Directors from each of the three (3) Canadian regions: Eastern, Central and Western, and one (1) Director at Large (who may be from any of the three regions).
  • Board members may serve two (2) terms of two years with the exception of the President and Vice President who may serve longer terms dependent on date of appointment.
  • The Board appoints three (3) Directors to offices of the Corporation known as the Executive Committee:  President, Vice-President and Treasurer.
  • Additionally Directors are appointed to the CACCN National Committees: Conference Education & Evaluation, Member Relations, Partner Relations and Professional Development.
  • Financial operations are the responsibility of Executive Committee – President, Vice-President, Treasurer, Chief Operating Officer and the Board of Directors.
  • Communication is the responsibility of the Chief Operating Officer.
  • The Board of Directors is supported by the Chief Operating Officer (COO), who is the only employee and is responsible for the day to day operations of the Association.  The COO is also a defacto member of the Board of Directors, without voting rights.


  • The CACCN Chapter Presidents report to the Board of Directors
  • Each chapter requires a chapter executive consisting of the following positions and a minimum of ten (10) chapter members to remain in good standing: President, Vice-President / President-Elect, Secretary and Treasurer.

General Operating Bylaw # 2, Policies and Procedures